The reasons behind Hussain’s journey can be found in his words from Medina where he began it and at the stopovers he had until he reached Karbala. Following is a timeline of events and an overview of the journey of Hussain with the names of the places and their approximate locations from Medina to Karbala. Important events at specific locations are also included.
This is a work in progress, and we will endeavour to provide our readers with the most accurate information. We invite you to share with us any information that you have access to, and you think we should add to the timeline.
The names of the places Hussain passed were mentioned in history books but their exact locations were not traceable in modern geographical maps. After searching in the archives of the British Museum Library some researchers found a map of the 9th Century Hijri was found in which all these names were clearly shown.
There were 14 places in all where Hussain was known to have passed during this journey.





The 2nd half of Rajab, 60 AH
3rd Sha’ban to 8th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Wednesday, 9th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Monday, 14th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Tuesday, 15th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Friday, 18th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Monday, 21st Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Tuesday, 22nd Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Friday, 25th Dhulhajjah 60 AH
Saturday, 26th Dhulhajjah 60 AH
Sunday, 27th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Monday, 28th Dhulhajjah, 60 AH
Wednesday, 1st Muharram 61 AH
Thursday, 2nd Muharram 61 AH
Friday, 3rd Muharram 61 AH
Saturday, 4th Muharram 61 AH
Sunday, 5th Muharram 61 AH
Monday, 6th Muharram, 61 AH
Tuesday, 7th Muharram, 61 AH
Wednesday, 8th Muharram 61 AH
Thursday, 9th Muharram 61 AH
Friday, 10th Muharram 61 AH